Profile image
By AmmoLand (Reporter)
Contributor profile | More stories
Story Views

Last Hour:
Last 24 Hours:

Ginny Thrasher an AAU James E. Sullivan Award Semifinalist; Public Vote Open

Friday, March 10, 2017 14:25
% of readers think this story is Fact. Add your two cents.

(Before It's News)

Olympian Ginny Thrasher
Olympian Ginny Thrasher
USA Shooting
USA Shooting

USA -( Olympic champion Ginny Thrasher is one of 18 amateur athletes selected as a semifinalist for the 2016 Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) James E. Sullivan Award.

Family, friends, fans and the shooting sports community can now come together to help try and move Thrasher to one of six AAU Sullivan Award Finalists. Olympic rifle legend Lones Wigger was an AAU Sullivan Award Finalist in 1982.

With just two clicks and no e-mail information to leave behind, you can vote daily now through Monday online.

Known as the “Oscar” of sports awards and older than The Heisman, the AAU Sullivan Award honors the outstanding amateur athlete in the United States. This honor places Thrasher among the best that amateur athletics has to offer, and her inclusion with this elite class of athletes, once again reiterates how truly special her year was in 2016.

Through process, Thrasher has reached unprecedented success. Her historic run began at the 2016 NCAA Rifle Championships where she became the first freshman rifle shooter ever to win both individual titles in air and smallbore while leading WVU to their fourth-straight, and 18th overall, NCAA team title.

Success didn’t end there for the 19-year-old, however. She went to Olympic Team Trials three weeks later and pulled out a decisive victory in the Three-Position event over a seasoned and talented field. She earned a nine-point win having never competed in the event internationally.

With a Finals performance for the ages, Thrasher won the first golden medal of the 2016 Olympic Games for Team USA. In winning the Women’s 10-meter Air Rifle event Saturday morning, the spotlight was glowing greater on the shooting sports and USA Shooting than any other time in history.

From NCAA Champion to Olympian, to Olympic gold medalist, it was quite a 2016 for Thrasher.

The AAU Sullivan Award has been presented annually since 1930 to the most outstanding amateur athlete in the United States. Representatives from the AAU created the Sullivan Award with the intent to recognize contributions and achievements across the country of amateur athletes. World renowned golfer Bobby Jones, co-founder of The Masters, received the inaugural award in 1930 and swimmer Anne Curtis became the first female to accept the award in 1944. Other notable athletes to win include famed Olympians Mark Spitz (1971), Carl Lewis (1981), Jackie Joyner-Kersee (1986) and Michael Phelps (2003). Former UCLA basketball star Bill Walton (1973), University of Tennessee quarterback Peyton Manning (1997), Ohio State running back Ezekiel Elliott (2015) and UConn Forward, Breanna Stewart (2016) have also earned the prestigious honor.

Based on the qualities of leadership, character, sportsmanship, and the ideals of amateurism, the AAU Sullivan Award goes far beyond athletic accomplishments and honors those who have shown strong moral character.

After a first round of voting, six finalists will be announced and proceed to a second round of voting. Six finalists will be part of the AAU James E. Sullivan Award Ceremony that will take place on Tuesday, April 11, 2017 at the New York Athletic Club.

Click here to vote.

The other semifinalists for the 2016 AAU James E. Sullivan Award are:

Aly Raisman (gymnastics), Ashleigh Johnson (water polo), Brianna Turner (basketball), Deshaun Watson (football), Helen Maroulis (wrestling), Jackie Galloway (taekwondo), Kayla Harrison (judo), Kyle Lewis (baseball), Kyle Snyder (wrestling), Lauren Carlini (volleyball), Laurie Hernandez (gymnastics), Lonzo Ball (basketball), Malik Monk (basketball), Matt Centrowitz Jr (track & field), Maverick McNealy (golf), Steele Johnson (diving) and Vashti Cunningham (track & field).

About The AAU:

The AAU was founded in 1888 to establish standards and uniformity in amateur sports. During its early years, the AAU served as a leader in international sport representing the U.S. in the international sports federations. The AAU worked closely with the Olympic movement to prepare athletes for the Olympic games. After the Amateur Sports Act of 1978, the AAU has focused its efforts into providing sports programs for all participants of all ages beginning at the grass roots level. The philosophy of “Sports for All, Forever,” is shared by over 670,000 participants and over 100,000 volunteers.

About ELEY:

ELEY is a Proud Sponsor of the USA Shooting Rifle and Pistol Teams: ELEY Limited, manufacturer of the world’s most consistently accurate rimfire ammunition, has been the Official Sponsor and Official Supplier of .22 rimfire ammunition of the USA Shooting rifle and pistol teams since 2000.

For more information on ELEY and their products, please visit their website.

About Winchester Ammunition:

Winchester Ammunition is a Proud Sponsor of the USA Shooting Shotgun Team: WinchesterÆ Ammunition has been the exclusive ammunition sponsor and supplier of the USA Shooting Shotgun Team since 1999. Members of the past two shotgun teams brought home a combined six medals from London and Beijing using Winchester AA International Target loads. Winchester is an industry leader in advancing and supporting conservation, hunter education and our country’s proud shooting sports heritage.

For more information about Winchester and its complete line of products, visit their website.

This post Ginny Thrasher an AAU James E. Sullivan Award Semifinalist; Public Vote Open appeared first on Shooting Sports News .


Report abuse


Your Comments
Question   Razz  Sad   Evil  Exclaim  Smile  Redface  Biggrin  Surprised  Eek   Confused   Cool  LOL   Mad   Twisted  Rolleyes   Wink  Idea  Arrow  Neutral  Cry   Mr. Green

Top Stories
Recent Stories



Email this story
Email this story

If you really want to ban this commenter, please write down the reason:

If you really want to disable all recommended stories, click on OK button. After that, you will be redirect to your options page.