Profile image
By The Media Co-op
Contributor profile | More stories
Story Views

Last Hour:
Last 24 Hours:

Sixteen Candidate Recommendations Made by Anti-Conservative Vote Together Campaign

Thursday, October 22, 2015 12:29
% of readers think this story is Fact. Add your two cents.

(Before It's News)

More recommendations coming before election day

A mix of seven NDP and nine Liberal candidates (listed below) were announced yesterday by the Vote Together campaign of Leadnow as having the best chance of defeating their Conservative rivals on October 19th. (disclosure: I worked for Leadnow for one week in July on this campaign)

The recommendations are being communicated in an effort to avoid vote-splitting between 'progressive' parties in swing ridings the Conservative could easily win. 

The choices were based on input at the riding level from residents who pledged to vote strategically. Selection has relied heavily on local polling and door-to-door outreach, intensive new developments for a strategic voting effort.

Amara Possian, Campaign Manager for Leadnow, says “these recommendations show that Canadians are prepared to unite to defeat the Conservatives.”

The Liberals, NDP and Greens, meanwhile, are encouraging Canadians to vote for their first choice and not to vote strategically.

More recommendations will be made and released on just days before the election. Information about races in every riding is available on the site, but only some ridings – where local strategic voting campaigns have been very active - will have candidate recommendations.

Vote Together Recommended Candidates


Calgary Centre: Kent Hehr (Liberal)

Calgary Confederation: Matt Grant (Liberal)

British Columbia

Cowichan-Malahat-Langford: Alistair MacGregor (NDP)

Kootenay-Columbia: Wayne Stetski (NDP)

Nanaimo-Ladysmith: Seila Malcolmson (NDP)

North Island – Powell River: Rachel Blaney (NDP)

Port Moody-Coquitlam: Fin Donnelly (NDP)


Elmwood-Transcona: Daniel Blaikie (NDP)

Winnipeg South Centre: Jim Carr (Liberal)

New Brunswick

Fredericton: Matt Decourcey (Liberal)


Eglinton-Lawrence: Marco Mendicino (Liberal)

Etobicoke-Lakeshore: James Maloney (Liberal)

London North Centre: Peter Fragiskatos (Liberal)

Waterloo: Bardish Chagger (Liberal)

Willowdale: Ali Ehsassi (Liberal) 


Saskatoon-University: Claire Card (NDP)


Report abuse


Your Comments
Question   Razz  Sad   Evil  Exclaim  Smile  Redface  Biggrin  Surprised  Eek   Confused   Cool  LOL   Mad   Twisted  Rolleyes   Wink  Idea  Arrow  Neutral  Cry   Mr. Green

Top Stories
Recent Stories



Email this story
Email this story

If you really want to ban this commenter, please write down the reason:

If you really want to disable all recommended stories, click on OK button. After that, you will be redirect to your options page.